NHS Blood and Transplant People First

Previous News

#OurHeroes Awards Winners List

Date: 28 October 2019

This year the event was dedicated to recognising 'Our Heroes'; those stand out colleagues amongst us in NHSBT, striving continuously to do better, be better and improve the work or services they offer. 

The People's Choice Award, voted for by colleagues, went to Torkwase Holmes, British Bone Marrow Registry (BBMR) Team Leader, for going above and beyond in the pursuit of new BAME blood donors and BBMR donors. 

Lisa Searle, Business Support Officer, was awarded Employee of the Year and Rachel Adams, Clinic Sister, was awarded Manager of the Year. Our Team of the Year Award was presented to the NHS App: ODR Implementation Core Team. Customer Service of the Year was awarded to Maria Kerr, Nurse Practitioner. These awards are all part of our Recognition of Excellence scheme that is open to all colleagues to nominate on an annual basis. 

In the next issue of Connect magazine we will be featuring the stories of several of our winners. 

You can check out more of our winners below: 

Patient Spotlight Award

Winner: Therapeutic Apheresis Services, Red Cell Immunohaemotology, Stem Cell Immunotherapy, Transport and Hospital Services

Highly Commended: 

  1. improving the quality of our Granulocytes Pools,

  2. Harvey's Gang

  3. The Rare Red Cell Steering Group.

Championing Inclusivity Award  

Winner: Women's Network

Highly Commended:

  1. Eileen Bays
  2. Alice Jones

Excellence in Continuous Improvement Award

Winner: Missing Units Team

Highly Commended:

  1. Reagents Production team
  2. IBGRL team 
  3. ACQUAS team

Excellence in Business Continuity Response Award

Winner: Rebecca Braund, Manufacturing Development

Highly Commended:

  1. Mike Roberts
  2. Adele Mayer

Health Safety and Wellbeing Award

Winner: Barbara Rutherford, Blood Donation

Highly Commended:

  1. Vanessa Hunt
  2. Sarah Fawcett

Charity Award  

Winner: Stephanie Doswell, Business Transformation Services

Highly Commended:

  1. Michelle Kennedy
  2. The Cambridge Charity group

David Anstee Award for Sustained Excellence in Research

Winner: Dr. Kay Ridgewall

Best Thesis of the Year Award 

Winner: Joe Hawksworth

Highly Commended:

  1. Anna Ramond
  2. Shamik Dholakia  

Colleagues who collected awards for loyal service and professional achievements can be viewed via our full list of winners

You can also catch up on everything that took place on the day on our Awards Yammer group.

  • Summary:

    The Annual National Awards Ceremony took place at the Birmingham Botanical Gardens on Thursday 24 October. Congratulations to all winners and Highly Commended recipients!

  • Sticky:
Twitter |  Facebook |  RSS
Give Blood Yes I Donate logo bone marrow logo tissue donation logo cord blood bank NHS Choices